Stasis

On the plus side, the sun is shining and  the sakura is popping.

On the minus side, I’m stuck in a third basement studio all day.

On the plus side, this morning’s yoga was particularly pleasant, accompanied as it was by two fuzz  monkeys rasseling in the corner, and neither of them peed in the bed today.

On the minus side, my knees hurt and my claustrophobia won’t let me ride in the coffin-sized elevator so walking down the stairs to the studio was hard.

On the plus side, I’m getting paid to sit on this comfortable couch and share these thoughts with you.

Also on the plus side, I discovered this morning that they’re finally changing the name of my bus stop. I doubt you can begin to grasp how humiliating it is to get off at Nichidaiseibutsushigenkagakubumae. As of April 1, it will be simply Nichidaimae.

For some reason, this makes me very happy.

Nichidai

I assume this is not an April Fool’s joke. I sincerely doubt the bus people have that  much of a sense of humor. Bus stop naming is serious business, after all.

So all in all, the plus side wins. Yay!

2 thoughts on “Stasis”

  1. That’s a good day.

    I have moved out of Japan and into Italy. Will enjoy your posts even more as I will miss that beautiful country. Keep on keeping on!

    1. Hey Diana! Yes, I knew you’d left. I’ve been following your blog but not commenting. There’s a lot happening here.

      I know it must have been hard to leave but Italy must be pretty wonderful. Hope you’re settling in.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

