Om Feeling Better

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

This morning was day 45 of my meditation journey. I sit on a cushion in front of a window and look at Meditation Cat until my eyes close and I sink into myself seeking calm and space and rest.

I was lost at first, but now I want to do the practices, even need to. I’ve never been a morning person, but find myself waking up extra early on work days so I can practice before I leave. I’m becoming greedy for that feeling of peace. When I can’t find it, I feel sad, frustrated. For the rest of the day, it feels like my socks are inside out and my ponytail is too tight.

But then there are brief moments when nirvana opens its limpid eyes and glances at my soul. Those are moments of pure bliss, of lightness and freedom and I want to laugh out loud. On the flip side, those moments are sometimes followed by equally brief but equally powerful bursts of pure emotion, often grief, and I want to sob.

Grief, regret, sadness, pain: none of these feelings do my spirit or the world any good. While I cannot deny their substance and reality, I can refuse to let them control me. I’m learning to embrace those feelings, acknowledge their existence, give them a hug and a scratch behind the ears, and then let them go, pushing them gently out into the universe where they can burst apart like sparkling fireworks and return their energy to the universal all. Perhaps in time that energy can learn to look for more positive directions.

For the longest time, I thought only truly stupid people could be truly happy, but I think there’s more–and less–to it than that.

I am unlikely to ever go vegan or worship crystals or wear clothing made of hemp, but have decided to heed the wise words of Meditation Cat:

We are only as miserable as we allow ourselves to be.

2 thoughts on “Om Feeling Better”

  1. IM Feeling better too. I heard a snippet of a lecture by B. K. S. Iyengar. He was talking about the meditation state. He said something that opened up my mind and helped my practice. Instead of the usual: clear your mind, empty your mind, contemplate the void, and let your thoughts go as they have no real importance (as if anything did). He said, “Let your mind be gentle.” A light switch clicked a powerful ON. If I have a gentle mind, then I can be kind to the thoughts as they flit about. I can tell them I love them and let them go. Your pushing them out gently is just that. Imagine what day 3,045 of meditation will bring. Yummmy!

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

