Grandmother Curry

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA
Grandmother Curry

I would bet a bazillion, no, a gazillion dollars that my grandmother never, ever, not once in her entire life, made curry and rice. And I’d be willing to bet almost the same amount again that she never even tasted it. But as I’ve mentioned before in these sacred pages, curry and rice is mac and cheese to the Tokyo taste bud, soul food, a taste of home, of childhood, of comfort, of permanence in this all too transient world.

What my grandmother did make was really great vegetable soup. I remember once, in my snotty childish way, I asked my mother why grandma’s veggie soup tasted so good (with ‘better than yours’ implicit). She just sighed and said, “She puts sugar in it.”

And that got me thinking about our relative attitudes toward sugar. I read recently that America’s obesity is not altogether our fault. Yes, fast food and large sodas and triple scoop ice cream cones are personal choices, but apparently there is hidden sugar in nearly every product in American supermarkets.

I think that’s less true of Japanese food. In traditional cooking, sugar is added to most dishes, but we’re talking a teaspoon of sugar in a dish that serves four people. If there’s dessert at all, it’s most likely fresh fruit. So while sugar is rarely added to main dishes in Western food, our desserts usually start with a full cup of sugar, often more, and don’t forget to add eggs, butter, cream and chocolate.

Thoughts of my grandma also brought back thoughts of childhood fun, like summer fairs and carnivals, where we ate cotton candy, candy apples, caramel corn–in other words, sugar, sugar, sugar. Of course, sugary things are available here, but it is not uncommon to see a kid at a summer festival happily chomping on a cucumber skewered on a chopstick, perhaps with a bit of miso or salt, perhaps plain. Healthy, cooling, sugarless.

I suppose it is possible that my grandma had a secret life where she made and consumed curry with gusto. Perhaps she spent her summers following the country fair circuit, traveling around dispensing curry and rice from the back of a brightly painted van. If she did, I’ll bet another gazillion dollars that she put sugar in it.

9 thoughts on “Grandmother Curry”

  1. You are so on the mark here. You cannot imagine what the processed food companies, along with the subsidized corn, wheat, and sugar farmers have done to sew up the entire discussion and eliminate any kind of change to the system they have perfected.

    The amounts of sugar/sugar-like products is carefully calculated to create a habit, an addiction. Don’t get me started.

    1. Yeah, I actually wrote some stuff about the addiction aspect in the post but then deleted it. I realized I’d need a whole new blog to deal with that monkey.

    1. I told you before–it’s not red ginger. It’s pickled daikon. If they’re serving your red ginger, thousands of Japanese grannies are spinning in their graves.

  2. yep, sugar and carbs.. the American way. I actually like the sweets in Japan better than the ones in America. Here the desserts and even candies have great flavor and aren’t overly sweet. It’s beautiful.

  3. Yeah, Grandma had no truck with ‘foreign’ foods, which in her case included Swiss cheese; she felt that came from New York because Uncle Bud liked it. You’ve been ex-pat way longer than the high fructose corn syrup invasion right down to cat kibble and toothpaste.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

