Weary, Bleary, Teary

Coming up on the 14th hour in the studio, I glance through my calendar and realize I haven’t had a day off in the past 12. I guess that explains my foggy head.

Yes, I am at work…still. There are barely a dozen English lines in the video, but I have to be here and I have to stay until the bitter end, while every tiny detail gets discussed into oblivion, and all I really want to do is curl up in a corner and snivel.

I hit the energy wall a couple of hours ago and we had nothing nothing left to snack on but sembei, so I trotted over to the convenience store and cleaned them out of chocolate, then downed an entire Snickers bar in three bites, something I haven’t done since high school. A sampling of other treats followed along with a sprinkling of potato chips for good measure, all topped off with a cup of tepid coffee.

The cast and crew descended on the delectable trove with gusto and gratitude, but I dread what will happen when we come out of our diabetic trance. Perhaps the studio staff will arrive in the morning and find us strewn about the floor semiconscious, arms and legs splayed at awkward angles, eyes bloodshot, hair disheveled, puddles of drool adorning the cool, concrete floor.

Or not. Perhaps we will, as we always do, take a deep breath and persevere. It’s not like we can re-schedule. The number of people involved and the cost make that impossible. The thing that’s hard, though, is that they never ask. Everyone just assues you’ll stay until it’s done, regardless of whatever other commitments you might have. It’s very Japanese; we’re all in this together and complaining about it won’t make it any easier for anyone. In many ways, its a very sensible attitude.

So I will try to contain my temper and continue to chant my mantra:

I am grateful for the work. I am grateful for the work. I am grateful for the work.

I’ll  be a lot more grateful, though, once I’ve finally had a chance to wash my hair. I’ll bet everyone else would be grateful for that, too. And would it be so bad if I crept off and had a good cry? A couple of heaving sobs, at least?

6 thoughts on “Weary, Bleary, Teary”

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

