The Tale of the Passport Elves

Well, paint my barn green and call me Mathilda! My shiny new passport arrived last night, and it only took two weeks, which is pretty amazing if you consider that I mailed the old one to the Embassy, and they sent it to Philadelphia where the Passport Elves made me a new one, then the Elves sent it to the Embassy, and then the Embassy sent it to me.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERAI take back all the mean things I thought, said and wrote about embassy people.

I am now at liberty to leave the country, just as soon as someone invites me somewhere and sends me a plane ticket to get there.

Oh, wait. I forgot. First I have to go to immigration and register the new number…and have my visa transferred…and apply for a new re-entry permit…and then register the new number with the ward office….

Never mind the invitations. This is going to take a while.

2 thoughts on “The Tale of the Passport Elves”

  1. Correct me if I’m wrong, but with the new gaijin card, I think it’s not necessary to go to the immigration office any more.

    1. You still have to register your new passport number at immigration if you get one, but you don’t have to register at the ward office. The new resident’s card is your visa, so you don’t get a stamp in your passport. Also, re-entry permits are no longer required. Yay!

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

