A Tale of Snow

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

I mouse around the house in my solitude, grateful that I can stay home today, grateful for my long sleeved t-shirt, sweatshirt, fleece sweater, neck warmer, corduroy granny pants and fuzzy socks, grateful for the kerosene stove, hoping that the gas will last, dreading the thought of going outside to refill the tank.

Tokyo’s rare snowfalls are normally things of wonderland beauty—large, wet tufts of snowflakes falling gently and covering the world with cotton candy fluff.

Today’s snow is not one of those snows. Today’s snowflakes are small and independent, each going its own direction, driven by gusting winds, swirling and eddying off the neighbors’ rooftops. Haphazard flights, confused, chaotic, they make kamikaze dashes against my window. The dejected sky is grey and heavy. I open the window to take a picture and snowflakes attach themselves to my eyelashes and camera lens.

I heat a can of tomato soup and toast a stale English muffin, make a cup of coffee and eat the last chocolate truffle.

The narrow street is nearly impassable. A single soul stumbles through the ruts, trying to protect herself with a collapsing umbrella. The news reports that the trains are shutting down.

I shrug more deeply into my comforting layers of warmth and whisper thanks for silver linings.

10 thoughts on “A Tale of Snow”

  1. But still…I’m envious. I love Tokyo in the snow, and I love it in the rain. All the imperfections are covered up, and I’m always amazed at how different the famous gardens look – as though the designers imagined they ought to be beautiful in every kind of condition. It must be colder than usual, if you’re getting those little gnat-like snowflakes instead of the big butterflies though. Stay worm, and I hope you don’t have to go out to fill that heater! ^_^

    1. You’re not in Tokyo?

      You’re right. I didn’t mean to be complaining. It’s very grey outside but still beautiful. And I agree about the gardens. I got to see Kenroku-en in the snow and it was gorgeous.

      Love the gnats/butterflies analogy.

      Update: Husband came home early. If I run out of kerosene, I will make him refill the tank. šŸ˜‰

      1. I’ll be back on the 21st!ļ¼¼(^Ī˜^)ļ¼ I’ll miss the snow, though.

        And I’ve never been to Kenroku-en ā€“ looked it up and now MUST SEE!

      2. I never got around to taking pictures of the ginko trees, but spent this afternoon collecting neighborhood snow sculptures and hopefully will post them soon, so at least you’ll get to see that!

  2. And into a bed of eiderdown of feathers and staw, the little mouse snuggled as the winter storm knocked at the door. Let me in please…but the little mouse smiled at the storm, sipped her tea and in a small but strong voice said…no thank you, and went to sleep to dream of sundrenched beaches and white hot sand…

    Good night little mouse.

  3. That was some crazy snow fall! We went out to play in it, run by work then went for ramen at the place close by. By the time we headed back it was no longer fluffy snow, turned to stinging snow with the wind throwing it around. That was a rough walk home but we made it!

    1. It was a wild one! Lucky you got to see it. In all these years I’ve never seen such a heavy snow, and I’m still grateful I could enjoy it in my pajamas.

  4. If the truffles are gone it’s time for the snow to go too. Glad you enjoyed it. I aways hate snow in London – we’re not built for it – infrastructure -wise.

    1. Tokyo isn’t built for it either. That’s why it was so nice that it happened on Saturday and I could enjoy it from the warm side of the windows. Snowman post coming soon.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

