A Tough Week Tale

Gosh, what a week. Three days in a row I had to get up early, face the crowded trains, and go to work, where I am expected to be both pleasant and efficient. This is hard for me. I suppose if you have to do it every day, you get used to it. But my schedule is totally unpredictable. Every week is different.

I know what you’re thinking. “Awwww. Poor little freelancer. Some people do that every single day, you lazy Lima bean.”

Yeah, well, some people actually like morning. I’m not one of them, and never have been. Family lore holds it that mornings in my house went like this:

Mom goes into my brother’s room. Gentle kiss on the forehead. Angelic smile. “Good morning, mommy.”

Then she goes into my sister’s room. Another gentle kiss on the forehead. Another angelic smile. “Good morning, mommy.”

Then she stands in the doorway to my room, throws a shoe at me and yells, “Mouse! Get up!”

Apparently, it was dangerous to get any closer to my bed than that. I’m told I was a thrasher. I have no recollection of this, but even now, people who live with me know that it is unwise to speak to me before I’ve had my morning coffee.

It’s not like I’m a night person, either. I used to be, but these days I go to bed pretty early. Maybe I just don’t like being awake.

I do like being freelance, though, despite the uncertainty. I can’t imagine going to the same job day after day and doing the same thing over and over. I feel like I’ve created the career I’m pursuing, and I like the variety. I’ll never cure cancer or invent a better mousetrap, but I do good work, smile a lot, and always make my deadlines.

If anybody has any complaints about that, you’re welcome to lodge them, just not before 10:00 a.m. I can’t vouch for what may happen if you do. It is possible that the universe will implode, and I don’t want to be responsible for that kind of thing.

4 thoughts on “A Tough Week Tale”

  1. This made me laugh and I can identify with the ‘maybe I just don’t like being awake’ because I’m neither a morning nor a late night person either.

    I have always been of the opinion that nothing that will change the world in a good way will ever be said after midnight, perhaps one reason I like New Year’s Eve so little (forced conviviality up and way past the witching hour.

    And I have always felt like vomiting if I have to leave my bed before 7.00am.

  2. Hey there, I love your blog! I’m the only one of my family who has yet to visit Japan but only my little brother has actually lived there, and for nowhere near as long as you have. Based on your blog I’m not certain I would want to live there beyond a few months…
    I’m part of a team that has recently launched a new freelancer marketplace called Seven Days. It’s focused on meritocracy and beating the feast-or-famine lifestyle that freelancers are usually faced with. We’re always looking for talented freelancers.
    If you’re interested, or just curious, I’d be really grateful if you could have a look and give me your feedback: http://www.sevendays.co.
    Anyway have a great day!
    Vassili

    1. Hi Vassili
      Thank you so much! I’m glad you like the blog. I’m curious, though. You said you wouldn’t want to live here a long time. Does the blog give such a negative impression? It isn’t meant to.

      I checked out Seven Days and it sounds very interesting. I’m up to my ears in work just now, but as soon as there is another lull, and you know there always is one for freelancers, I’ll check it out more carefully.

      Thanks again for stopping by!

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

