Arrrrrgh!

Every year I promise myself I will avoid supermarkets at the end of the year, and every year I end up having to buy stuff. At year end, the normally polite and deferential Japanese somehow mutate into consumerism crazed maniacs, smashing into each other, fighting over the suddenly more-than-usually over-priced fish and vegetables, and ramming their shopping carts into the small of my back.

At Tokyu, a woman jabbed me in the boob with a gobo root.

At Foodium, I actually said “Arrrrgh!” to a man as he nearly toppled me onto a stack of tempura shrimp. He turned and gave me a look of such sweet innocence that it was hard not to find out just how strong my right hook is.

I SWEAR I will stay home next year and eat nothing but oatmeal.

131231_1556~01Or maybe I’ll wear my boxing gloves when I shop and let every man fend for himself.

3 thoughts on “Arrrrrgh!”

  1. I liked the post but I don’t like that you were shoved about. So far, most of the time I’ve seen the people in Japan being courteous but I have seen the other side too.

    Bring the gloves next year, I wanna hear how it plays out. haha

    1. I probably wouldn’t even have to hit anyone–just wear the gloves and do the boxer pose. People most likely would think I’m crazy and give me some space!

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

