Substitutions

This one goes out to Adam J. Holland, who writes a wicked good blog that also tantalizes the taste buds.

His Creamy Tex-Mex Orzo Salad seemed just the thing for the dying days of summer, so I set out in search of ingredients. Tomatoes? Are you kidding? Check. Sour cream? Check. Coriander? Check. Mayonnaise? Check. Corn? Check. So far, so good.

Copied, with permission, from Adam’s blog.

Limes? Available, but very expensive. Luckily, a colleague had just given me some green Japanese citrusy things that seemed would suffice.

Orzo? Are you mad? I scoured the import stores but no such luck. I finally settled on some terribly cute bunny shaped pasta from Germany. (I say if you’re going to substitute, do it with flair.) Most of their ears fell off when I boiled them, but I’m not sentimental about such things.

When I went to put the whole thing together, I discovered I was out of salsa, but since the bunnies were already humiliated, I decided to persevere. I even tossed in some leftover grilled chicken just for giggles.

The result? It didn’t look much like the original but was still quite tasty. I guess it all comes down to expectations. If you don’t have any, you can’t be disappointed. Also, life without orzo is still pretty great.

Thanks, Adam!

12 thoughts on “Substitutions”

  1. Sounds and looks good, I would have to substitute out the mayo though (pretty sure there’s sugar in that), maybe plain greek yogurt? I’d look past the white pasta to try this. =) Maybe add some cooked shrimp.

    1. It all comes down to necessity. When I realized orzo wasn’t going to happen, I figured pasta is pasta and bunnies are cute…with or without ears. 😉

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

