Grief

Grief is a wondrous thing.
You’re thinking, “Yeah. I’m all right. I can handle this.”
And then grief leaps out at you from behind a bus stop or under a bush,
teeth barred, claws bared,
and takes a vicious swipe at your heart.

And for a moment the world closes in on you
and you can’t think or move or even breathe.

And then it passes.

They say time heals all wounds but they’re wrong.
Some wounds remain, you just learn to live with them.

And hope that somehow makes you stronger.

2 thoughts on “Grief”

  1. Well stated. I lost 2 years of my life to grief. I don’t remember very much from those years. It still hurts but at this point I have turned it to remembering the happiness and love not the sadness and pain so much. Learning to live without the one who passed is a difficult task for some of us.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

