A Tale of the Un(der)employed

Having nothing to do today and plenty of time to do it, I decided to have a cooking adventure and try Sam’s Peach Apricot Ginger Clafoutis. Clafoutis is something I’d heard of but never eaten and Sam has a way of writing recipes that always makes me feel all warm and squishy. Plus, this one is based on Julia Child’s, so I felt like I was in good hands.

Besides, if I screwed it up, how would I know the difference?

Unfortunately, though, Sam lives in the Southern hemisphere, so her seasonals are not mine. My peaches were canned, my apricots dried. I didn’t even try to find vanilla beans. I hope the gods of culinary heaven will forgive me.

Armed with my lovely new glass baking dish, which I had christened with lasagna a few days ago, I set to work. And it came out pretty good.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

The addition of grated ginger is pure genius. It gives a bit of a kick to what would otherwise be, really, a pancake with fruit in it.

So now I know what clafoutis tastes like.

And I learned something else. According to Wiki, since this recipe is made with fruit other than cherries, it’s a flaugnarde. But they’re equally difficult both to spell and to pronounce, so let’s not split hairs…or couper les cheveux en quatre (why four?)…or スプリットの毛 (OK, that’s just nonsense).

This day wasn’t a total waste, was it?

3 thoughts on “A Tale of the Un(der)employed”

  1. Looks yummy, sounds like a cobbler with a fancy name to be honest. lol I may have to try this but it looks just delicious enough to be not diabetes friendly. (checking Sam’s blog out)

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

