My “Japanese” Neighborhood

These are all within two minutes walk of my station.
And oops, I forgot to take a picture of the Big Daddy of them all, McDonald’s.
It’s open 24 hours if you’re one of those people who has to have a Big Mac at 3:00 a.m.

And that’s just in my neighborhood.

If you go someplace hipper, like Shibuya, which is not far from here, you’ll find a lot more.
There’s Burger King, Shakeys, Outback, TGI Friday, FOUR McDonalds,
and TEN Starbucks (including the busiest one in the universe at Hachiko Crossing).

And that’s just food.

There’s also a seven floor Tower Records, a Gap and an Apple Store,
and that’s just what I can remember off the top of my head.

Who says you can’t get American stuff in Japan?

I have to wonder if it’s too much of a good thing.
Or is calling it a “good thing” wrong to begin with?

6 thoughts on “My “Japanese” Neighborhood”

  1. It looks like the Japanese neighborhood is Americanized. I imagine it has its good and bad things. Take care and have a wonderful day!
    Peace!!!

  2. I don’t call it a good thing at all. It is getting harder and harder to disappear and get away from banners and consumer bombarding in any culture, let alone American processed food JUNK. BUT I AM GONNA TRY 🙂

  3. All I can remember from my one 24 hour visit to Tokyo is that i couldn’t get any American stuff…not with my American ATM cards and cell phone. None of which worked.

    1. Yes, Japanese banks are still not in the international banking grid. I could get cash from the US in Cappadocia and Luxor, but not Tokyo, although US cards now work at post office ATMs.

      The black ships may have “liberated” Japan, but it still finds ways to bury its head in the sand.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

