Cheese!

Da mouse in da cheese
Love the gesture.

I love cheese and always have. Perhaps this was destined to happen since my mother started calling me mouse when I was a baby. My favorite after-school snack was a couple of slices of cheddar with a handful of raisins. A more mature me often opts for dried cranberries instead. (Try it! Yum!) I love mac and cheese; won’t eat a burger without cheese; eggs and cheese together create a harmony more elegant than Mozart’s most soaring concerto. If I had to choose between meat and cheese, cheese would win every time.

Living here, I miss cheese. All the stores have it, but mostly only processed stuff. If they have any real cheese, it’s usually gouda, which is a bit too mild for my taste. I like a good stinky cheese, but that doesn’t go over well with most Japanese people, which is odd since most of them like stinky fish. And don’t get me started on natto.

It’s not that good cheese isn’t available. You can get some of the world’s finest cheeses if you go to the right stores. The problem is that they’re always exorbitantly, horrifically, appallingly expensive. I just can’t enjoy eating something I know I have paid too much for. I’ve bought fresh chevre cheese in French markets for pennies, so when I see a tiny piece of it here, priced at over $20, I cringe.

Which brings me to my new friend, a woman who has access to the supermarket on one of the US military bases. They stock pretty much anything you could want. And not only are they tax free, they’re also subsidized, so I asked her to get me some cheese, please. And, boy, did she.

I have been indulging myself in a lusty cheese orgy for the past week. Port Salut with crusty brown bread and white wine. Blue cheese with fresh baguette. A pepper jack sandwich. I haven’t even opened the hot habanero jack, fontina, feta or gorgonzola yet.

Bliss
Bliss

Last night, I made quiche with rosemary asiago and sauteed tomato slices. Not to toot my own horn too loudly, it was, hands down, unequivocally, the BEST quiche EVER in the ENTIRE UNIVERSE.

4 thoughts on “Cheese!”

  1. I understand! Sounds like you now have a great connection. You don’t like natto? What about shiokara? I love those things…really love. It is funny, because the Chinese eat stinky tofu, but revile at blue cheese.

    1. Just had another offer as well, someone I “met” through my blog. Yay!

      No, I do not like natto, my little omnivore. Natto is not food. And shiokara is gross. Squid and shrimp are so nice cooked; I can’t understand why people insist on eating them raw.

      How was the show?

  2. Well, if you ever need a cheese fix (or anything else the commissary may have that you lack) let me know. I can grab some from here on base and bring it to Tokyo. Break my heart for a reason to run up there. lol I love cheese too, I am rather bummed not to find any goat cheese in the commissary here, though they do have a decent variety of other cheese. (Googling natto)

    1. That would be fabulous! I’d pay for the stuff, of course, and would be happy to play tour guide if there’s anything you’d particularly like to see in Tokyo.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

