Dust Storm

It was unseasonably warm and sunny today and so a nice trip to the chiropractor to deal with my ankle and have a massage seemed in order. (Tell me, is there anything in the world that feels as good as a butt massage? It didn’t hurt that the guy who did mine was a cutie. I know, I know. Inappropriate thoughts from a middle aged woman, but looky no touchy is allowed, right?) That was followed by Thai fried rice for lunch, some shopping, and I came home feeling pretty much like all was well with the world.

A little while later I glanced out the window and saw a huge brownish grey cloud looming on the horizon. “What the heck is that?” I wondered. “Did the Powers That Be lie about the situation at the nuclear power plant up north? Are we going to have an unpredicted storm? Did a flour factory explode?”

With the theme of Something Wicked This Way Comes dancing in my head, I dashed upstairs to rescue the laundry and close the windows.

Within minutes, our lovely blue sky looked like this:

Courtesy of Gerri Sorrels. Thanks, doll.
Photo by Gerri Sorrels. Thanks, doll.

Every year, when the first spring winds start to blow, we get an icky covering of fine, grey dust courtesy of the Gobi Desert, but I had never seen anything like this. Within minutes I could no longer see the tall building just down the street. I’m not terribly allergic, but my face is burning and my eyes are crunchy. By the time I got to my computer, the keyboard was gritty. There are footprints in the dust in the upstairs hall.

It only lasted about an hour. The sky has returned to its usual grey self and it’s clearing up to the west. According to the evening news, the cloud was not A Gift of the Gobi but rather a rare but natural domestic occurrence having something to do with rice paddies and deforestation.

I like violent weather. Give me a good thunderstorm or blizzard anytime (when I don’t have to go out in it). I like listening to the shutters bang and watching tree branches and wicked witches go sailing past the windows, but this was downright creepy.

We’ll have no more of that, Mother Nature, if you please.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

