Slurping

Yesterday at the noodle shop, the big man at the next table was a hardcore slurper. Seriously. He slurped his udon and my glass of tea jumped. Fortunately he was also the type who can finish his noodles in four bites, so the agony didn’t last long.

It takes me forever to finish a bowl of noodles. I was once working on a bowl of udon and Rochi had already long finished inhaling his soba.

Somewhat irritably, he said, “You chew too much. You’re supposed to swallow it whole.”

Poker-faced, I replied, “We come from different cultures. In my culture, we are encouraged to take small bites and chew our food thoroughly with our mouths CLOSED.” *

And then, just for fun, I gave a mouthful of noodles a good, hard slurp.

Rochi laughed out loud and said, “Yeah, nice try. It sounds silly when you do it.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

