Friendly Buddhas

  I had some time to kill the other day so I went to Kuhonbutsu (Nine Buddhas) Temple. After checking out the Buddhas and climbing around in the cemetery, I encountered this fine fellow on the way out. It’s hard to see in the picture, but  his over-sized left hand is extended and he’s holding a piece of wood in his right. He’s got a grotesque grin on his face, and it looks as if he’s saying, “GIVE ME ALL OF YOUR MONEY OR I WILL WHACK YOU WITH MY STICK!” Or maybe he’s just got really bad indigestion.

After the serenity of the temple, I was amused by the irony.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

