Work, Work, Work

After hardly working at all last year*, it seems like everyone I’ve ever worked for suddenly has something for me to do, and I’ve got a couple of new clients, too. I’ve got script writing, editing, directing, production meetings, etc., etc.

Fortunately, so far at least, there’s a nice balance between educational stuff and commercial stuff, as well as between kid stuff and grown-up stuff, which is important. After spending a day filming with Shimajiro, I need to unwind with the script for a nice documentary about the mayhem in Fukushima, and I don’t mean that facetiously. When I was working with Sesame Street, someone told me that Carroll Spinney would not have survived sickly sweet Big Bird if he didn’t also have curmudgeonly Oscar. I can relate.

Yesterday, I was asked to re-write a dictionary of technical broadcasting terms, and to make as many changes as possible. This is odd, as there’s nothing wrong with the original text. All I can think of is that someone wants to pirate copyrighted work, but the client is a governmental organization, so that seems far-fetched…or maybe not. But it does seem like I’m going to cost more than it could possibly cost to clear the original copyrights.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

