Food

It’s been unusually cold recently, so lunch today was a very satisfying bowl of piping hot ramen with shrimp wontons. Yum. There’s an excellent selection of Asian food in this neighborhood, but I’ve had trouble finding satisfactory Western food.

The ironic thing about that is we have MickeyD’s, KFC, Starbucks, Dennys, Baskin Robbins, Mr. Donuts and Subway, and the latter is the only one of those places I ever go into. They have the only good sandwiches in the neighborhood. Plus you get to boss the Sandwich Artists around (More olives! Less mayo!) and they’re always nice about it. Just once, the register lady was slightly rude to me. The manager noticed, scolded her, and gave me a ticket for free beverages for six months.

You’d think that after all this time, I’d be acclimatized but I still need my sandwich fix sometimes. Convenience stores and coffee shops have sandwiches, but they always cut the crust off the bread (the best part!), add wilted cucumber slices and slather them in a nauseating amount of mayo, sometimes mixed with wasabi, which, trust me, does not go well with cheese. Apparently you can’t mix orange juice and milk either. See today’s entry on my new favorite blog:

http://themiddlestsister.com/2012/02/01/the-scientific-method/

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

