Punch Drunk

I had a dream the other night. We were sleeping and a robber broke in. Rochi jumped up, grabbed Dana, and ran away. I jumped up and punched the guy’s lights out with a quick right upper to the jaw. When I told Sensei about it, he laughed out loud and said, “That’s as it should be.” I told one of my colleagues about it and she said, “Oh, but that couldn’t happen, right?” And I said, “Maybe. He doesn’t know how to punch and I do. After all, I’ve been training for six years.” She’s got big eyes anyway, but they got even bigger.

I’ve said this before but it’s worth mentioning again. In dageki class, which is gloves and mitts, every time I get partnered with a guy who doesn’t know me, he gets a quizzical expression on his face as if to say, “What the  heck am I supposed to do with this itty bitty foreign woman?” After a minute or two, it changes to, “Gee. This itty bitty foreign woman could probably beat the crap out of me if she wanted to.”

I’ve never hit anybody for real, or been hit for that matter, except once in a youth hostel in Greece when an obnoxious German guy punched me in the nose. Two tough Australian women made quick work of him. At this point, I suppose I could probably hold my own.

2 thoughts on “Punch Drunk”

    1. Now there’s a good question. The dream was actually rather comical. It wasn’t so much protective as aggressive. The robber was dressed sort of like a ninja and I thought that was just silly. (By the way, Rochi didn’t grab the cat–he asked me to add that so he wouldn’t look like such a wuss.) In real life he wouldn’t have run away like that, but I doubt that he could throw a punch that would do any damage, and I know that I can. What I don’t know is whether I’d have the courage or presence of mind to do that when actually threatened.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

