Sweet Nothings

One of the things I try to do here is dispel unfounded myths about Americans and life in America. One of them is that all American desserts are gut-wrenchingly sweet. Of course, that sort of thing is available, I tell people, witness the sundae I had in Florida—minimum order three scoops, slathered with hot fudge and extra on the side for good measure. Good grief. I could only eat half of it, and that left me with shaking hands and a pounding headache. But there are certainly less sweet and healthier options available.

120102_1841~01
Does this look artistic or autistic?

Well, I really shot myself in the foot with the cake I baked for tomorrow’s party. I wanted to go authentic American so I followed the recipe exactly. One and a half cups of white sugar in the cake itself (Ugh!) and three (Yes, three!) cups of powdered sugar in the icing. And I decorated it with chocolate piping.Everyone is going to take one bite and and slip directly into a diabetic coma. I can just see the sweating, twitching bodies writhing around on the floor, eyes crossed, gasping for breath. What was I thinking?

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

