Another Weird Day

Walking to the station yesterday, I passed a car flipped over onto its roof, shattered glass everywhere. I had to tiptoe through a pile of it to get past. There were a couple of guys trying to push the car up onto a flatbed truck. I was in a hurry so kept going, but it bugged me all day. The car was in the middle of a dogleg intersection of very narrow streets. It is impossible for anyone to have been driving fast enough to flip their car there. And checking on the way home, I noticed no damage of any of the buildings there, so it couldn’t have crashed into anything. Then I also remembered there were no ambulances and the people watching seemed more amused than concerned. How could this possibly have happened? It finally struck me that the car must have fallen off the truck and there was nobody in it. Eliminate everything that could not have happened and you’re left with what did. -Sherlock Holmes

When I got to the station, they were making announcements that there was a major accident somewhere and the entire line was shut down until further notice. OK. Back to the street, grab a bus to Shibuya where there’s a different train I can take to the office. In the end, I was only 15 minutes late.

Was there some kind of blip in the space/time continuum around 12:30 yesterday? At least all of this distracted me for a while from the gaping hole in my chest where my heart used to be.

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

