The Big Mikan*

My first apartment in Tokyo was a shoebox designed for very tiny shoes. It was one room with a squat toilet and no bath. A streetcar ran past the apartment’s one window with a riotous clang-clang-clang from a heart-stopping 4:30 in the morning. Anyone who tells you that you can learn to ignore that kind of thing is lying.

Most of Tokyo’s streets don’t have names or numbers, so when I gave people directions, it was, “Take the narrow street between the ramen shop and the tobacco stand, turn left at the condom machine, and right at the black cat. Look for the cemetery on your left. My building is the beached whale in the middle of it.”

Photo by Rob Ketcherside

Despite the lack of street names, Tokyo is laid out with some reason, if not rhyme. It’s a spider web with the Emperor’s palace in the middle. The palace is circled by eight concentric ring roads which are numbered, sanely enough, one through eight. The major roads radiating out from the center are also numbered, but with no logic or detectable pattern. There’s a route one that eventually becomes two, but nowhere near Tokyo. Nobody seems to know where route three is. The one that goes past my neighborhood is 246. There’s no 245 or 247.

This neighborhood was at one time farm land, and its streets were once deer paths and rabbit trails. Wandering around the area, one discovers dead ends and switchbacks so it’s not unusual to be looking for something and discover that you just can’t get there from here. But along the way, one can also discover traditional houses next to modern monstrosities, temples and shrines, gates leading nowhere…

111203_1434~01                   …or a tree growing through someone’s balcony.

111203_1428~01I guess in the end it’s not about getting there.
It’s about what you do along the way.

* For the uninitiated, a mikan is a mandarin orange.

This was written in response to a WordPress writing challenge related to similes (OK, I didn’t use any) and metaphors (three!).

This entry was posted in Life in Tokyo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Big Mikan*

  1. 76sanfermo says:

    I found this very interesting and pleasant.,thank you!

  2. Very interesting. Congrats on FP!

  3. zachbissett says:

    I’ve always been interesting in living in Tokyo, and now I want to more than ever. The location of that tree in the pictures you showed, wonderful.

  4. Bridget says:

    Congrats on being FPd. I lived in Tokyo for 2 years in early 90s. This all rings lots of bells!

  5. themamadiary says:

    after reading this, i would love to take a former someone to tokyo who despised my uncomplicated complicated travels. gracias for sharing this!

  6. Thank you for the interesting and entertaining post!

  7. like it a lot, I’m in! (and newly in Tokyo!)

  8. Quinn says:

    Reminds me of the 48 hours I spent in Tokyo–I was lost for about 44 of those.

  9. tokyo5 says:

    Nice blog.

    Please visit mine … it’s about Tokyo too.

    • Eda says:

      OK. Will do that now.

    • Eda says:

      Nice site! I don’t care about Kiss, but I like how you set up the study Japanese page. Do you update it? My reading is still pathetic even after all these years.

      • tokyo5 says:

        >Nice site!

        Thank you. Please visit (and comment) often!

        >I don’t care about Kiss

        Well, very few posts are music or movie related…although those are interests of mine.

        >I like how you set up the study Japanese page. Do you update it?

        Which one? The one on my other website or the one on my “Tokyo Five smart-phone app“?

        I’m having trouble with the other site right now…and I’m not able to update that site until I can get it resolved.

        But I continuously update my blog…and the app (including the Japanese page).

      • Eda says:

        Which one? The one on my other website or the one on my “Tokyo Five smart-phone app“?

        I guess I meant the other one. I can’t use your app on my au granny phone. I am very low tech.

  10. indrajitch says:

    Amazing narrative.. loved every description and reasoning ! :)

Any opinions about that? I love to hear from you.

